Saturday, June 02, 2012

The Alice Saga, Nineteen Thirty-Three by Max C Norton

The Alice Saga, Volume II: Nineteen Thirty-three, The Forgotten Man Chronicles

The Alice Saga, Volume II: Nineteen Thirty-three, The Forgotten Man Chronicles returns to the saga of Bob and Alice Norton, who, looking for a new start in the wake of the great farm depression of the 1920s, have settled in the Great Central Valley town of Modesto, California.

The burning of the Norton’s home at the site of the great Don Pedro Dam brought personal hardship and disruption to the families of Bob and Alice and their closest relatives, John and Jennie. Volume Two of Norton’s trilogy embraces their struggle to survive as a family amid a society rocked by continuing depression and the rising threat of totalitarianism in Europe. With compelling historical accuracy, Norton portrays the struggles of the poor and displaced in the period leading up to the collapse of the world economy.

Epitomized by the closing quote from Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Forgotten Man Address, reminding a generation without hope that “the only thing we have to fear is fear itself,” The Alice Saga, Volume IIis a richly engaging novel exploring the responses of a changing society in the face of complex new challenges.

My Thoughts:
I really enjoyed reading this second part of the trilogy.  I'm still really liking that the author combined true events with fiction so that you knew, in a general aspect, what happened during that time but were introduced to the world of the characters of the book. I absolutely fell in love with some of the characters and I can't wait to see what happens to them in the last part of the trilogy. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great historical fiction read :)

I received a complimentary copy of The Alice Saga, Nineteen Twenty-Three by Max C Norton as a member of the Dorrance Publishing Book Review Team. Visit to learn how you can become a member of the Book Review Team.

You can purchase this book here.

No comments:

Post a Comment