Sunday, August 05, 2012

The Cosmic Purr by Aaron Poochigian

The Cosmic Purr
The Cosmic Purr is the first collection of original poetry from Aaron Poochigian, well-known for his translations of Sappho, Aeschylus, Aratus and Apollonius of Rhodes. From the mythical to everyday themes, from the landscape of North Dakota to scenes in a bar, at a marriage ceremony, before birth or before death, Poochigian's verse is enlightened by uncommonly fresh wisdom, and deployed in the delightfully masterful, elegant and naturally-flowing metrical forms his translations are known for.

I was really impressed with the style of writing that the author portrays in this book. His knowledge of the subject, concise wording and varying structure make this a delightful book to read. I thoroughly enjoyed delving into this book and was transported into another world numerous times. This is definitely one of those books that you cannot say "Oh, I'm going to read just one poem and then head off to bed". It just doesn't work that way! I recommend this book to everyone, even if you're not a fan of poetry :)

Aaron Poochigian was born in 1973. He attended Moorhead State University from 1991 to 1996 where he studied under the poets Tim Murphy, Dave Mason and Alan Sullivan. He entered graduate school for Classics in 1997 at the University of Minnesota. After traveling and doing research in Greece on fellowship from 2003 to 2004, he earned a Ph.D. in Classics in 2006, and now lives and writes in New York City. His translations, with introduction and notes, of Sappho 's poems andfragments were published by Penguin Classics in 2009.
His translations of Aeschylus, Aratus and Apollonius of Rhodes appeared in the Norton Anthology of Greek Literature in Translation in the spring of 2009, and Johns Hopkins University Press published his edition of Aratus astronomical poem, The Phaenomena, with his introduction and notes, in the spring of 2010. His poetry has appeared in numerous journals, including Arion, The Dark Horse, Poetry and Smartish Pace.

You can buy this book here:

You can stalk the author in his website:

No comments:

Post a Comment