Saturday, July 07, 2012

Wishbone by Brooklyn Hudson Blog Tour


About the Book:
A Manhattan power couple survive a tragedy and attempt a fresh start only to be plagued by unexplained and disastrous careful what you wish for.
At the age of nine, growing up in the French countryside, Julien Grenier witnessed the brutal murder of his grandfather. Now, at forty-five, he continues to be plagued by horrific nightmares and reenactments of that tragic event.

Living a successful though austere lifestyle on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, Julien has recreated himself, building emotional walls that even his young wife cannot penetrate.

Though somewhat moody, Julien is a good man with a heart of gold, and a great sense of loyalty and responsibility; enabling his wife, Rachael, to turn a blind eye to his tightly-kept secrets.

Rachael is thirty-two years old; an art dealer and playful free spirit, but after a home invasion assault leaves her emotionally unstable and destroys their care-free and content world, they relocate to a safer environment with the hope of a fresh start.

Kings Hollow is a quaint town, nestled in the serene Catskill Mountains of upstate New York. At first, their new home appears to be the miracle they prayed for, until a traditional children's game begins to destroy their bliss; Rachael is no longer herself and Julien is experiencing a string of bad luck and unfortunate accidents.

At the center of it all is seventeen-year-old Sarah, a part-time caretaker on the property.

Can Julien and Rachael escape the nightmare of Kings Hollow...or is this just Wishful thinking?

WISHBONE is a multi-layered thriller incorporating several sub-plots; in the vein of Pet Sematary, What Lies Beneath, Misery and Stir of Echoes. Dramatic horror at its best, Brooklyn Hudson takes you on a suspenseful roller coaster ride of emotional turmoil and shocking events.

Guest Post:
Many authors see marketing as a bind. What are your thoughts?
By Brooklyn Hudson

Marketing is a definite bind. It is truly an all day job hoping from social network to social network, chat rooms, blogs, and anywhere else you can make noise for your books. I would like to say that this is where there are advantages to brick and mortar publishing (because they do it for you), but the truth is, I have many friends who publish with the “Big 6” and they are still forced to be out there marketing their work predominantly on their own.

Try to set yourself a schedule and limit marketing to a portion of your day, or specific days of the week, depending on if you are writing full-time or your schedule, and write the remainder of the time. Also, don’t be afraid to ask your friends to help. I was timid about this at first, then I realized there are many people in my circle who want to help and will gladly devote some time if told what they can to do.

If you could invite any 5 people to dinner who would you choose?
Stephen King, Kathy Bates, Donald Trump, John Carpenter, and Rick Baker

If you were stranded on a desert island what 3 things would you want with you?
Fire, Music, and Paper. Guess I’ll have to MacGyver me a pen out of a feather and squid ink or berries.

Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects?
Currently I have a deadline for the second draft of the WISHBONE screen adaption. I plan on completing the follow up novel to WISHBONE by summer, and then focusing on one of three plots I’ve wanted to get my teeth into for over a year. So far I have them fleshed out in my mind, but I’d really like to get to work on one of them before the fall.

What inspired you to want to become a writer?
Stephen King, beyond a shadow of a doubt. I read Cujo as a child. It was my first adult read and I loved what it did to me. The thrill and entertainment it provided. I already had an inkling that I would write and had already begun my crude attempts, but after reading Cujo I knew WHAT I wanted to write and who had set that bar for me .In a more vague sense, movies inspired me; television too. I wanted to write and entertain and my interest spread into other mediums of writing.

Tell us your most rewarding experience since being published.
I have a neighbor who has become a good friend. She confessed to me that she hadn’t read a book n decades and couldn’t find the time nor interest to do so. She said this in almost an apologetic way, like…congrats on your book, but I won’t be reading it. A few weeks later she was at my house and picked up a paperback version of the book. I told her to give it a try and there would be no hard feelings if she couldn’t make it to the end. That night she text me at 1 a.m., already one-third of the way through the book, and she couldn’t put it down. If I can turn a non-reader into a reader…I’m doing okay.

What is your dream cast for your book?
My Dream Cast….
Julien Grenier: Olivier Martinez
Rachael Grenier: Michelle Monoghan (she can go from sweet to a glint in her eye on a dime)
Sarah: I wrote that role with Lauren Ambrose in mind. If she’s aged out of the role, perhaps an unknown.
Jerome: There is a great French actor who I modeled Jerome after named, Moussa Maaskri
Arlette: Francis Conroy
Matt: He was a total figment of my imagination. I would cast a very special unknown.
Dr. Lind: Lord Richard Attenborough

What's one piece of advice you would give aspiring authors?
Write, write, and write some more. And write for yourself…not to get rich, not to be famous. Just write, and write what you love to write about. Your audience might not be your best friend or your college professor, but I guarantee you there is an audience out there for what you like to write about, just waiting to read and dig your work.

How did you know you should become an author?
I found it so easy to create stories in my mind. I looked at everything pondering What if? And I loved telling those stories or writing them down. I loved entertaining people with them. Growing up, when there was a story to be told, most would look at me and say, you tell ‘em.

Can you see yourself in any of your characters?
Not really. One person close to me mentioned that Julien has a lot of emotional walls built around him, as do I. Sometimes, surprisingly, I see a little of myself in Sarah – scary, I know. But she is stuck in her own world and really doesn’t mean to hurt anyone…she just wants what she wants and she’s frustrated. I have a little of that in me for sure.

What's the best advice anyone has ever given you?
I lost my parents very, very young and was blessed to be partially raised by an amazing woman named Ola Hudson – look her up. She was an incredible clothing designer, writer, photographer, the mother of Slash, the guitarist from Guns N’ Roses, and Ash, the founder of CONART CLOTHING. She designed all the Ziggy Stardust clothing for Bowie, and clothes for everyone from John Lennon to Diana Ross. Quite honestly the most influential entity ever in my life. We lost her far too young only two years ago. Having been raised in a traditional, blue-collar, hardworking Italian family first, creativity was somewhat suppressed by the advice to not dream so big and secure a future. When Ola stepped into my life, that all changed. She told me to be who I want to be and others will believe it. Dress not for the job you have but for the one you want. Be it and it will be.

If you were a bird, which one would you be?
An African Grey Parrot – They’re the most quiet (no screaming and squawking) yet most loquaciously advanced and highly intelligent. They have a bad-ass temper if you piss ‘em off too.

What do you do in your free time?
Music. I listen to music all the time, even while watching tv. Reality shows. Honestly, I don’t have a lot of free time and when I do, I’m usually writing.

What TV show/movie/book do you watch/read that you'd be embarrassed to admit?
I am a fool for American Idol…Watched it from season one and at one time it was cool, but now it seems to be un-cool. I love it. I miss Simon dreadfully though. I thought I would hate Jennifer Lopez, but I adore her and Steven Tyler is a doll. Randy’s been there all along and now without Simon there, he’s the big boy on the bench. I still miss Simon and sadly, I didn’t enjoy X-Factor, though I will watch it anyway.

About the Author:
Brooklyn Hudson was born and raised in New York City's borough of Staten Island. She currently resides in Los Angeles where she produces The Springsteen Experience, a theatrical concert event; she is a replica-rock (tribute show) concert promoter and band manager, and has been writing fiction since she was old enough to hold a pencil. She credits Stephen King for her devout adoration of adult dramatic horror and is currently fast at work on the WISHBONE screen adaption and WISHBONE Part II

Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Supernatural Thriller
Rating - R
More details about the author & the book

Connect with Brooklyn Hudon on Twitter & Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment